chiesa di sant'antonio trieste




The Church of Sant’Antonio Taumaturgo popularly called “Sant’Antonio Nuovo” was built on the site where a private chapel dedicated to the Annunciation had already been erected in 1767, which was later demolished because it was small compared to the public. In its place, in 1771, another church in Baroque style was erected but also the latter proved inadequate to the religious needs of the population which, in the meantime, had grown together with the great development of the Borgo Teresiano.

chiesa di sant'antonio trieste

The Church of Sant’Antonio Taumaturgo was built between 1825 and 1849 to a design by the architect Pietro Nobile. An outstanding monument of neoclassical architecture. At the entrance to the church, under the pronaos, there is a plaque: “Because of the cholera that raged in Trieste on 15 October this church was consecrated on 15 November 1849”.

Once the Church was reflected in the waters of the Canal. The main facade is characterized by a majestic pronaos with six Ionic columns and a large pediment while, at the top, there are six statues sculpted, in 1842 by Francesco Bosa, depicting the patron saints of Trieste, San Giusto, San Sergio, San Servolo , San Mauro, Sant’Eufemia and Santa Tecla. The interior is striking for the great grandeur of the twelve Ionic columns and is divided into three naves with three respective altars and three lateral cross vaults that culminate in the large central dome.

In the apse, the fresco depicting the “Triumphal Entry of Jesus into Jerusalem” was painted in 1836 by Sebastiano Santi. Next to one of the altars on the left opens the door that leads to the presbytery and to a small chapel, called the Visitation, where the painting of the same name is kept, the work has been attributed to Alessandro Longhi, the most famous Venetian portrait painter of the epoch.

Six altarpieces framed by the altars depict Sant’Anna educating the Virgin (Michelangelo Grigoretti), the presentation in the temple (Felice Schiavoni), San Giuseppe (Johann Schonmann), Sant’Antonio (Odorico Politi), the passion of Eufemia, Tecla, Erasma and Dorotea (Ludovico Lipparini), the Crucifix (Ernest Tunner).

Leave your comment

Please enter comment.
Please enter your name.
Please enter your email address.
Please enter a valid email address.